Mother’s Day 2014

I’m sitting at the dining room table, munching on french fries, leftovers from friday night’s dinner, trying to chew quietly as I listen for any sounds of little children who might be attempting to boycott their naps.  The husband is at the hospital working on an emergency case.

This is how I am spending Mother’s Day.

And yes, I am throwing myself a pity party.

A few days ago, in the short 25 minute commute between work/daycare and home, I got paged 5 different times regarding urgent matters.  This is very unusual, but hey, it can happen.  And of course, it was one of those days of “When it rains, it pours” situations.  Baby J had refused his late afternoon bottle and decided on the drive home that he was starving, Big brother E had dropped his toys and desperately need me to use my long arms to dig them out from under the carseat,  and Big Sister C needed to pee.  Oh, and did I mention that we had literally just escaped from a fire?  (yes, there was an actual real minor fire in the parking garage being extinguished as I was picking up the kids)

So we finally made it home through rush hour traffic, with me trying to answer various pages from patients while discreetly hushing screaming crying hungry children in the background.

When I pulled into the garage.  My daughter whined, “Mommy, why did you have to talk on the phone the WHOLE time when you were driving home?  Why can’t you talk to us?!”

I sighed and answered, “C, Mommy is a doctor and I am on call today.  Sometimes there are emergencies and it is my job to take care those patients when they need me.”

C looked me in the eye and said, “But WE are your children.  and WE NEEEED you to take care of US!”

I wanted to burst into tears.  I know she didn’t mean to hurt me, she was simply stating the truth.  But boy, it really hurt.

I’m trying, children, I’m really trying the best I can.  But it’s so hard.

Happy Mother’s Day to my mommy, my mother-in-law, my sister-in-law, and all my mommy friends.  Being a mom is really hard and you are doing an awesome job!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

