The Piano Lesson Legacy

Recently I enrolled my daughter in piano classes.  These “lessons” for preschoolers consist of 45 minutes of music theory in the form of small group singing, dancing, and games, along with another 10-15 minutes of one-on-one time with the teacher at the piano.

A couple of weeks ago, the children were each given an assignment to practice for their recital.  A few days before the recital, I was encouraging my daughter to practice her song.  As her little fingers carefully played the first notes of “Old McDonald”, I sat down next to her and accompanied her with the “teacher’s part”.  When we were done, she turned to me and asked in amazement, “How did you do that, mommy?”

I smiled, pointed to the page, and replied, “I was reading these notes.”

She smiled back and asked me to play it again.  Then she said very sweetly, “Will I be able to play that one day?”  I assured her that if she continue to practice and learn, that one day soon she would be able to read the music the same way.

30 years ago, I remember, as a four-year-old, falling asleep on the piano bench in the middle of the lesson, much to the embarrassment of my mother. I never realized that one of the benefits of sticking with piano lessons would be that one day, I would be able to play “duets” with my own child.  Thanks Mom, for making me take piano classes!

Leave a Reply

