Things you probably shouldn’t say to a momma of 3

So…it’s been about 8 months since my last blog post.  What have I been up to, you ask?  Well…shortly after my last blog post in March, I was struck with a terrible bout of GI distress which I blamed on my kids and daycare germs.  The virus passed through our family of 4, and then when everyone seemed to be getting better, it appeared that I was getting worse even after a few weeks…nauseated and vomiting every day, terribly drained of energy, falling asleep in front of the TV by 8pm every night.

Yup, you guessed it.  I was pregnant. Again.   The 3rd time in the past 4 years.

In retrospect, the pregnancy flew by quickly and smoothly, and a couple of weeks ago we became a family of five.  But I will be frank, these past few months were tough from a blogger standpoint, mainly because my husband challenged me to keep “social media” silence and all I wanted to do was complain about how I felt like a whale pretending to be a waddling duck.

So for my first post-partum blog post, I’ve posted a collection of some wonderful unfiltered unsolicited comments that I’ve heard from various random strangers, friends, family members, and colleagues regarding my fertility.

10. You have been rather productive, I see.

9.  Better you than me!

8. 3 Kids?  Really?  That must be a Midwest thing!

7. You are the only Chinese person I know that has 3 children.

6. Why are you having another one?  You already have a boy and a girl.

5. It was an accident, wasn’t it?

4. I didn’t realize that you still needed me to say congratulations this time around.

3. Aren’t you scared? You’re definitely done after this one, right?

2. Where are you going to keep all those kids?

1. When are you moving to the suburbs?

And as a bonus, my personal favorite:  I don’t remember what you look like when you are not pregnant.

It seems that when you are pregnant with your 1st child, 99% of people are very excited and happy for you.  When it’s your 2nd child, most people congratulate you on your expanding family.  But when you’re pregnant for the 3rd time, the reaction seems a little bit more…uh…blunt?  Anyone else experience this?

One thought on “Things you probably shouldn’t say to a momma of 3

Leave a Reply

