(Medical) Nerd-in-training

During one of his medical conferences, my husband picked up an illustrated freebie book titled “Dr. Bear’s Big Book of Doctor Words.”

photo-29

It’s basically an ABC book so of course my daughter has been perusing over it endlessly.  This morning, she decided to “read” it to her brother.  Here are some of C’s favorite letters, complete with her own running commentary.

C is for Contagious.  That is when you are sick and the germs can get to other people.  DIDI (little brother)! pay attention! When you cough you should cough into your elbows!

F is for Fever.  I had a fever before.  My body was very hot and then very cold and I couldn’t sleep.

S is for Scurvy.  That’s what you get when you don’t have enough vitamins.  MOMMMMY, you forgot to give me my vitamins! (shakes her head back and forth)

D is for DNA.  DNA is for deoxyribonucleic acid.  I got some deoxyribonucleic acid from my Mommy and some deoxyribonucleic acid from my Daddy.

and of course, the one that would make her Daddy proud…

K is for Kidney.  The kidneys are right here (points to her flank).  The blood goes into the kidney and the dirty stuff goes into the pee.  Then the pee goes down to the bladder (points to lower abdomen) and you pee it out.

This morning, she asked to bring the book to share with friends at school.  I wonder what the teachers thought of our funny little nerd.

Leave a Reply

