Fashion Tips

I will be the first to admit that when it comes to style and beauty, I am the opposite of a fashionista.  I tend to be boring in my clothing, choosing to wear things that are a little bit…nerdy.  My 3-year-old daughter C, on the other hand, seems to have caught some kind of fashion bug ever since she was 1.5 years old, and has a very very strong sense of what-to-wear and what-not-to-wear.  I thought it would be kind of fun to share some of her fashion tips.

1. Pink sparkly sequined Mary Janes are the perfect accessories to any girl’s wardrobe.  You would think that when it comes to sequined footwear, there are only a limited number of occasions or outfits that would be appropriate.  However, C has proved me wrong by wearing out an insane number of sequined Mary Janes in the past year (so far we’ve replaced 3 pairs of silver, 4 pairs of pink, and 1 pair of electric blue).  Her favorites are definitely the Pink ones, and surprisingly, they do complement almost every single outfit that she wears!

2. When in doubt, look to the colors of the rainbow as a guide.  My daughter tends to be a little bit obsessive when it comes to matching shades of colors and coordinating patterns.  I have noticed that there are days when she decides to throw out the monochromatic look and go for as many colors of the rainbow as possible.  I suppose that when you are wearing all the colors of the rainbow at once, naturally you instantly feel like a brighter, happier person.

3. For the perfect relaxed evening look, let your hair down.  Even though a significant amount of time during our morning routine is spent on styling her pigtails or braids with coordinating barrettes, 4 out of 5 days per week, I end up finding my daughter racing around the playground in the afternoon with crazy wild hair covering half her face.  I have asked her why she insists on pulling out her hair accessories, and she simply answers me, “because it’s nice”.

4. One can never be overdressed.  I’ve given up on “saving” the pouffy party dresses for special occasions.  As a result, my daughter is one of those little girls that wears her formal Easter dress or her long Christmas dress at least once every two weeks.  C has convinced me that when it comes to clothes that make you feel like a princess, why not wear them on a regular basis?  After all, what’s the point of spending a lot of money on a beautiful outfit that you are only going to wear only once a year?

5.  There is no need to sacrifice comfort and practicality.  Although she may be quite girly-girl in her princess gowns and sparkly shoes, my little girl also has a practical side.  C always insists on wearing a T-shirt and cotton leggings under her long dresses.  This is just in case she has to do a spontaneous somersault or quickly scale the monkey bars on the playground.  It even comes in handy when you accidentally spill juice on your dress and voila, you have an instant back-up outfit!

So the next time I look in my closet and complain about how “I have nothing to wear”, maybe I should just follow my daughter’s fashion philosophy!

One thought on “Fashion Tips

  1. Pingback: The Big Sister Syndrome | myspoonfulofsugar

Leave a Reply

