Evangelism

Yesterday as I was picking up my daughter from preschool, her teacher pulled me aside and asked, “Hey, do you guys go to church regularly?

I answered yes and asked her why. It turns out that my daughter has been talking to her classmates about Jesus being the Son of God, Christmas as Jesus’ birthday, and how much God loves the world that He gave us Jesus.  It wasn’t that the teachers thought that it was inappropriate, but they did find it somewhat humorous that they  overheard her teaching a group of classmates the lyrics of “Away in the Manger” and then explaining to everyone the real meaning of Christmas (2 weeks post-holiday!).  The teacher actually said, “One of the kids was very confused and asked, ‘ Jesus? Jesus is a baby?’ and C started talking about how Jesus was sent from Heaven from God as a baby.”  This is actually not the first time that I’ve heard from the preschool teachers about my daughter’s evangelistic tendencies.  In the past few months, she has also taught many of her classmates the lyrics to “Jesus loves me” and “This Little Light of Mine”.

As I heard about this encounter, my heart swells with pride as I think about how simple yet solid her faith is at the age of three.  Unfortunately, part of me also fears for the potential coming days when some unkind classmates may make fun of her beliefs or ostracize her for loving God.  I feel so humbled by how excited she is to share the Christmas story with her friends, because after all, shouldn’t I as a Christian feel that same kind of excitement to share the Gospel with everyone around me?  I pray that my dear little daughter will always have this boldness and fervor for God, and I thank God for this little reminder in my life to live more faithfully.

Pray also for me, that whenever I speak, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel (Ephesians 6:19)
2 thoughts on “Evangelism

  1. I too have a little girl who loves to tell everyone about Jesus. My sweet angel is 7 and she has been doing this since age 4 and yes she has had some kids tell her Jesus isnt real and some to who didnt even know who Jesus was. She just keeps chatting about Him. We pray often for those who dont know Jesus and we also pray for those who may bully or tease her, I find praying for them is the best way to start a positive way for her to handle the sad feelings when another classmate lashes out. We will keep you and you family in prayers!!
    I also sat with her and told her it was okay for her to walk away when words hurt her. This gave her permission to choose what to hear..

Leave a Reply

