Embarassing Confessions: Scary Movies

One of my favorite things to do since childhood has been to watch horror movies.  The more ridiculously bloody and violent, the better.  I even remember around age 13 or 14, getting in trouble because somehow I convinced my younger cousins and sisters to watch Candyman with me during a sleepover and afterwards everyone was sobbing with fear much to the chagrin of my parents.

However, as I have gotten older, I’ve realized that I don’t enjoy watching scary movies nearly as much as I used to.   I remember after I watched The Ring, I made my husband hide the DVD box because I couldn’t stand the thought of being in the same room as the creepy image on the movie box.  Even just a few years ago, my husband came home from work one evening and found me sitting on the couch, cuddling my dog (who was squirming and trying to get away), with all the lights on, too afraid to go to sleep after I had watched Jeepers Creepers.  At this point in my life, my tolerance for fear has deteriorated to the point when I will only watch scary TV shows (think American Horror Story) during the day, with all the lights on and window shades open, preferably with my husband sitting next to me.

And yet, around every single Halloween season, I get this weird desire to turn on the TV late at night to see what horror flicks are on…what are some of the best scary movies that you’ve watched?

One thought on “Embarassing Confessions: Scary Movies

  1. I’ve been a big fan of horror movies for years now, and the one I’ve recently been most fond of is 28 Days Later, which is probably on the more intense side of things, but an excellent movie nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

