I’m pregnant!

During my fellowship training, I often heard my clinic preceptor say to her patients, “If you get pregnant, please let me know as soon as possible.  I want to be on the short list of people you call first, right after you talk to your husband and your parents.”  This is because in my field of work, we often take care of patients who have thyroid disease or diabetes and its important for us to make dose adjustments in their medications as soon as there is a change in metabolism status, such as pregnancy.

In my short time in practice so far, I have had the opportunity to take care of several pregnant patients, and out of habit, I found myself repeating to the women of child-bearing age, “If you get pregnant, please call me right away!  I want to be on your short list of people to call!”

I recently received a message from a patient asking to speak to me urgently.  When I called her back, she excitedly informed me that she had just taken then pregnancy test that morning and it was positive.  In fact, she hadn’t even told her parents yet!

I congratulated her and discussed the necessary medication adjustments.  As I hung up the phone, I couldn’t help feel an overwhelming sense of delight.  As a woman and a mother, I couldn’t help but reflect upon my own memories of those first moments when I saw the little blue positive sign on the plastic stick and the excitement of wanting to tell everyone I knew!  As a physician, I felt extremely honored to think that of all the people in her life, I was the second person she had thought of to call.

In the busy, harried life of clinic, it is often easy to forget what a privilege it is to be someone’s confidante in matters so personal.  I love my job!

2 thoughts on “I’m pregnant!

Leave a Reply

